Jesus of Revelation is Black

07/24/2011 17:13

 I had an interesting conversation with a man the other day.  I asked him does he worship the Jesus of Revelation.  Of course he immediately responded with an affirmative, "YES!"  I then asked him was this Jesus that he worshipped Black or White?  He paused for a moment as if I wasn't supposed to ask that question.  He then replied, "He was Caucasian from what I have been taught."  I then asked him how did he know Jesus was Caucasian?  He said again, "That's what I have been taught."

 

I showed him the quote in the Book of Revelation where it states:

Rev. 1:13 - And in the midst of the seven candlesticks [one] like unto the Son of man, clothed with a garment down to the foot, and girt about the paps with a golden girdle.

Rev. 1:14 - His head and [his] hairs [were] white like wool, as white as snow; and his eyes [were] as a flame of fire;

Rev. 1:15 - And his feet like unto fine brass, as if they burned in a furnace; and his voice as the sound of many waters.

I asked does this sound like a Caucasian?  This is John, the beloved Disciple giving his account of one he says that looked like the Son of Man.  He says he had feet like unto brass, as if burned in a furnace.

 

Brass, a copper and zinc alloy, has varying ranges of color, from yellow to golden to a brown very similat to copper.  During the first century, near the time when John wrote the Book of Revelation, brass was produced by a process of cementation.  This is when zinc is vaporized.  The vapor sticks to the copper creating the brass alloy.  John copared the image of a man who appeared to be Jesus with grey hair as having skin like brass that was burned in a furnace.  I asked this man what race would you say this man who looked like Jesus to John was.

 

He didn't want to say Black.  He said, "I guess he was more African looking."  I said that makes more sense doesn't it.  if John, one of Jesus beloved disciples, a disciple who walked and talked with Jesus, described a man that looked like Jesus as having dark skin, then what race was this man?  He definitely wasn't Caucasian.

 

I then asked the man again, do you worship the Jesus of Revelation?  He seemed to be a little upset and walked away.  The truth hurts sometimes.  Ye shall know the truth and the truth shall make you free.  I learned that from a great black man, Jesus Christ.